FMP – Brief and Idea development

The brief I have chosen for my FMP is Broken. I must present my project as a film lasting no longer than 2 minutes.

I have chosen to base my video on the track ‘Hood – Perfume Genius’ in a music video format. I feel that this song fits the theme ‘Broken’ well as the song suggests a failing or problematic relationship. The song itself uses a simple chord pattern throughout with a very chill feel; however it still develops with the use of dynamics and instrumentation to add contrast. I plan to use these moments to highlight changes or important moments in the story.

“Hood”

You would never call me baby
If you knew me truly
Oh, but I waited so long for your love
I am scared baby that I can’t keep it up for long

Oh, I wish I grew up the second I first held you in my arms
Underneath this hood you kiss, I tick like a bomb

You would never call me baby
If you knew me truly
Oh, but I waited so long for your love
I will fight baby not to do wrong

The content of my film will be built on two story ideas that I plan to converge, one of these will be of Partner 1 traveling through beautiful locations to the sight of their lovers death. The second will be of the growing and disintegrating relationship that they share up to the point that partner 2 is deceased

Story Strand 1 – Scenic Walking ideas

  • Seen as I live in the lake district I plan to use as many beautiful locations that I can find but will visit as many as I can to do test shots and help plan out my characters movements
  • This story stand should be the easiest logistically to film, even though there will be a large amount of driving about, as I will only require 1 actor and minimal kit meaning we can move quickly and easily from location to location on order to get as many shots as possible.
  • The development of this strand will be highly dependent on the location scouts that I do so that I can work with what I have available to me
  • After looking at the scene in ‘Bastellie – Pompeii’ I’m now sure that I will need to build this scene with a number of wide and high angle shots of my subject, broken up with a selection of close ups

Story Strand 2 – Relationship ideas

  • At the moment there appears to be two main ways in which I can approach this, either having the relationship develop healthily or negatively. I’m leaning towards negative as I feel it will support the brief better. What I mean by this is, starting from the beginning of the relationship, I will show key moments such as when they meet, dates, moving in, marriage etc and follow up with moments where things start to go wrong with shots of arguments and partner 2 leaving aggressively
  • Possible Locations – Train station, Tom’s House (bedroom, Lounge,Kitchen), My house, car, Ford park, Grange Pond, Little kings pool table.

This entry was posted in FMP, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to FMP – Brief and Idea development

  1. kendalcollegefilm says:

    Good development here, Matthew.

    Like

Leave a comment